Oats in Frozen Whitecastle Burgers—Any Other Odd Places You Know Of?

I’ve resorted to really only posting to this blog when content comes in from readers, and today is a good example. Reader Shauna wanted to share one of many foods that contains oats that you really wouldn’t expect to:

Sometimes there are oats found in foods you’d never expect. Frozen Whitecastle burgers contain oat fiber. Thankfully I never eat them because of the fat content, so no near fatal reactions, but I thought I would let your readers know. 🙂

Do you have any other foods that contain oats that you wouldn’t expect to?

7 responses to “Oats in Frozen Whitecastle Burgers—Any Other Odd Places You Know Of?

  1. Taco’s from Taco Bell too. They add Oat fiber to their meat!!!

  2. thank you for the heads up!!
    we LOVE taco bell (where else can you grab a quick, semi-healthy family meal for under $10??) but i have noticed that there are times when my ASD/Tourette’s son seems rather ticcy and spazzy afterward, also i tend to gravitate to the bean burritos bcoz my tum doesnt always feel that well after the tacos… i thought maybe the salicylates in the hot sauce might be aggravating my boy’s sensitivities but it doesnt always happen so i wasnt sure…
    anyway, we are all oat sensitive in my family (not celiac- just oat), digestive upset plus very much can cause manic emotional reactions, especially for the son i mentioned.
    thanx to your post, now i know which menu items are to be avoided on our visits to Taco Bell!!

  3. There’s oat fiber in some tortilla chips ( Aldi’s brand ). Tostitos brand is fine. Perhaps your reactions were to the hard taco shells?

  4. there’s a thought- my husband’s chip of choice happens to be Tostitos. White corn, becoz he always says that yellow corn ‘messes him up’…. chips or taco shells…

  5. Hi, I’m new to the site. Anyway, I’m always finding oats in strange places they don’t really belong. I can kind of understand it being used as a cheap filler in canned chili, but putting oat fiber in wheat pasta? I can eat almost all of the Barilla brand of pasta–except for the tortellini, since they all contain oat fiber. Very frustrating that they think it’s okay to do that. What’s the point? You expect it in the multigrain (duh), but why the regular pasta? And none of my local stores carry any other brand of tortellini. 😦 I’m not allergic to any other grain–just oats. (Although I have a host of other strange allergies.)

    A second strange place is in the original chicken sandwich at Burger King. I’m assuming they’ve never changed the recipe. The newer chicken sandwich at BK is tastier in my opinion anyway and I haven’t noticed any problems eating it. But I know the original–the one that’s been recently advertised on TV–has always contained oat flour in, I believe, the breading. Can’t think of any more right now.

  6. How about bread crumbs? Do you ever try to order meatballs, meatloaf or even a hamburger at a restaurant? Many times chefs use bread crumbs as a filler. The most popular breadcrumbs on the market contain oat fiber. This is SOOOOO annoying!!!

    We also find oats and oat products in many “healthy” dog and cat foods. Most rodent and bird feeds also contain oats or oat groats too. And don’t even bother going to the petting zoo… Since my daughter is severely allergic to oats (even surface contact) she cannot attend playdates outside of our own home for fear of exposure to pets who eat food containing oats, or even worse- younger siblings who leave a trail of oat rings style cereal every where they go.

    And let’s not forget skin care and hair care products. Oat protein is also a common ingredient in hair conditioner (for instance, Pureology products) and many lotions as well. The scientific name for oats is Avena sativa, so read the back of your lotions and potions my friends!

  7. My son is allergic to wheat and oats, and before he was diagnosed with those allergies his pediatrician was recommending Aveeno lotion for his eczema. It turned out to have oats in it. So for over a year I was slathering him in the very thing that was breaking him out. I was given the wrong information regarding his allergy test results. I was told to follow a gluten free diet. That hasn’t worked. Clearly gluten free does not equal oat-free. Should we consult a dietician?

Leave a Reply

