Seeking Pointers for Someone Just Diagnosed

I received this email from Jennifer a little while ago. Her daughter was recently diagnosed with an oat allergy. Here’s what she’s asking:

My name is Jennifer. I have a 2 1/2yr old daughter, who has been diagnosed with an allergy to Oat.  I don’t know where to begin, or what to do, when it comes to feeding her. She loves helthy foods, but I’ve realized, a large portion of food…contains Oat…also, she has an allergy to Mold….and there are also many foods that contain “mold” something or others….yeast, vinegar, and a whole list of other things…I don’t know what to do, and I would like to have some questions to ask her allergy doctor. If anyone cold help, I would appreciate it.

Thank you again
Jennifer and Kyra-Mae

Last year (when she was around 2 1/2), we found out that our daughter had outgrown her oat allergy. So, the first thing I’ll offer is that there is hope she’ll grow out of it. I’d say the two toughest products to buy when there’s an oat allergy involved are breads (so many have oats) and bath products (again, it’s in a LOT of them). Cereals, of course, have a lot of oats but there are many corn or rice cereals out there, too.

I’m curious if your daughter was just diagnosed because she only recently started showing symptoms or if this is finally an answer you got to something that has been bothering her a long time.

Anyone else have any input?

Leave a Reply

