Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Our daughter just had her third birthday party this past weekend. She has grown out of her oat allergy but still has dairy and peanut allergies. For her first birthday, we tried to please everyone. We had dairy-free foods for our daughter and a wide variety of foods for everyone else. The problem with that is you need to make sure she isn’t touched by hands with ice cream, isn’t handed a piece of the wrong cake, etc. For her second birthday, we went all dairy-free. Unfortunately, serving the average kid Tofutti ice cream results in more than a few scrunched faces.

This year we just went simple. We didn’t bother with ice cream. We made dairy-free cupcakes and cookies. We had a veggie spread (with Italian dressing because we have not found a dairy-free Ranch dip), chips and salsa, and fruit. And nobody noticed that it was completely dairy free.

The chocolate chip cookies, in particular, were quite tasty. We figured we’d share the recipe below.

Dairy-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) softened Willow Run soybean margarine
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 10 oz package of Sunspire Tropical Source Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
    • (Dairy free and gluten free, though this recipe is NOT gluten-free)

Preheat oven to 375°. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In large bowl, beat butter, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla until creamy. Beat in eggs. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 9 to 11 minutes until edges are golden brown. Makes five dozen cookies.

The chocolate chips taste so much like regular chocolate chips that nobody noticed they were dairy free. In fact, we received many positive comments on the cookies.

Have recipes of your own to share? Please send them to oatallergy@gmail.com.

3 responses to “Dairy Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning
    to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something
    unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  2. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.

    Please let me know. Thank you

  3. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to know how
    you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.

    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

